The Senate has five Officers: a President, a Vice-President for each campus, and a Secretary-Treasurer.

The Senate has eighty three Senators: forty-one members from the Main Campus, twenty-four from the Medical Center, ten from the Law Center, and eight from the senior administration: the three Executive Vice-Presidents, one designee appointed by the University President (currently the Senior Advisor to the President for Faculty Relations), the Dean of the Graduate School, one Dean from the Medical Center, and two Main Campus Deans.

The Steering Committee consists of the Senate Officers, the Executive Vice-Presidents, the designee of the University President, and other members appointed by those designated members and confirmed by the Senate.